In this section: Latest Economic Censuses • Data from past Censuses • Governmental Finance Data • Other Sources of Data
| The Economic Censuses are a set of surveys of economic activity
taken every five years, the latest containing data collected in 2002. Data
will be collected in 2007 but will not be compiled and available
until 2009.
Industry information in the Economic Census reports is arranged by NAICS (North American Industry Classification System–used beginning with the 1997 Censuses) or by SIC (Standard Industrial Classification–used through the 1992 Censuses). These coding systems classify types of businesses, products and services. NAICS is the new system which is gradually replacing SIC codes in reporting economic data. The Census Bureau web site provides this Bridge between NAICS and SIC. In addition to the Economic Censuses, the Census Bureau conducts several surveys of economic activity on a more frequent basis. Links to Economic Census data as well as the results of these various surveys can be located through Census Bureau Economic Programs, an index/portal page offering access to the data through a variety of points, as well as links to related statistics. |
||
| Publication Formats. Census information
in the Blume Library may be found in different formats: print
Data at the Census Bureau web site (referred
to as Census.gov below) is available in a variety of formats, too. Much basic
information is provided on normal web pages, through drop-down menus and
other devices (for some data to display, Java must be enabled). More extensive
files might be available for download in spreadsheet
|
When to Use Which Format. Some information
has been received in both paper (or microfiche) format and on CD. If you
are simply looking up statistical facts, it is probably faster to use the
paper or microfiche version of the publication . The Statistical Abstract
is an example of this type of publication, received in multiple formats.
(There is also a web version.)
Use the CD products when
Location of the Publications. Paper publications will be found in Superintendent of Documents Classification order, on shelves next to the Reference Collection, on the library's main floor. Microfiche is located in cabinets on the west wall of the main floor. The general class for Census Bureau material, in all physical formats, is C 3. Census CDs (and documentation, when available) are on reserve and can be checked out at the Circulation Desk by St. Mary's students, faculty and staff. Here is a list of the Census CDs and DVDs held by the Library. |
|
Latest Economic Census (2002)
Go to CDs/DVDs in the Library
Data at Census.gov
The main Economic Census page highlights the latest available reports. (Primarily set up to help businesses comply with Economic Census reporting requirements, this nifty page also has drop-down menus leading to quick industry overviews.)
Industry Sector reports (listed in order by NAICS code):
To access data in forms other than HTML or PDF (such as files structured to be used with spreadsheet sofware), and in greater detail, you must go through the American Factfinder page. This service is highly interactive, requiring more than minimal computing power, a monitor with display resolution of 800 x 600 or higher, and a high-level browser (at least Netscape 4.76 or Explorer 5.0) set to accept cookies and with Java and style sheets enabled.
To access data sets
directly,
choose that option on the
American
Factfinder main page.
When you have selected the data set you need, click on the "Print/Download"
bar at the top of the page. Download format options are comma (.csv) or tab
(.lst) delimited.
| For more information on Economic Census data at Census.gov,
consult these sites:
Guide to the 2002 Economic Census. This general guide describes the Census reports, data items, geography and organizing principles, explains how the data is collected and used, and provides links to sites with related information and Census Bureau contact information for specific questions. How to Find the Latest Business Data (including non-census surveys). This page is a collection of links to the latest data from a number of Census and other agency surveys of economic activity.
Do-It-Yourself User
Conference on the 1997 Economic Census. The four major sections of this
page, available in PDF
Economic Census Frequently Asked Questions (from Census.gov). There is a good information page on the Economic Census in the GPO's Browse Topics series. |
The Longitudinal Employer-Household Dynamics (LEHD) site at Census.gov provides data related to local labor markets in a variety of formats.
Census
CDs in the Blume Library
The Library is beginning to receive 2002 CDs and DVDs. If you are doing extensive research or data manipulation you might find it easier to use these products than the web-based version of the same information. As the disks are processed, they will be listed here.
The main 1997 Economic Census page provides links to general data covering all sectors of the economy, sector specific reports (see list below; or you may search by keyword or NAICS code) and reports by state, accessed through a drop-down menu. There are links on this page to 1992 data, which is the earliest Economic Census available at Census.gov.
These are the 1997 CDs held by the Library and available for 7-day reserve checkout. They include viewing software which must be installed. To install this software, run the file SETUP.EXE from the CD.
![]()
The Library has printed or microfiche reports from Economic Censuses back
to 1963, for some sections. The list of sections and available years is
below. CDs were received beginning with the 1987 Censuses.
Some historical data is available at Census.gov (usually only back to the
1992 Censuses). To see what is available, look under the specific subject
(e.g., "Construction") under "Publications" from the main Census.gov page.
All the Economic Censuses are on the same schedule, with a census taken in 1977, 1982, 1987, 1992 and 1997; Agriculture was staggered at different 5-year intervals until 1982, when it began to be taken on the same schedule as the other Economic Censuses. The general organization of the information in the Economic Censuses printed reports is the same for each subject area: volumes of subject reports and volumes of geographic reports. Data is usually given for whole states and for all or at least selected Metropolitan areas.
| Comparability over time is possible to some extent with the Economic Censuses. But the Standard Industrial Classification scheme, by which most information in the reports is organized, underwent a drastic revision in 1972. Comparability of recent data with that from Censuses dated before this time, therefore, is essentially impossible. Another problem with comparability is some variation of geographical definitions from Census to Census. Also note that information that is now published separately (in printed form) in the Censuses of Retail Trade, Wholesale Trade and Service Industries was published together in the Census of Business prior to 1972. These volumes are located at C 3.202/5:, for the years 1963 and 1967. CD-ROM reports return to the integrated approach, with all Economic and Agricultural Census reports appearing on one CD, starting with the 1987 Census. | More information on comparability can be found in History
of the 1992 Economic Censuses. C 3.253/3:992, which includes chapters
on comparability of statistics over time as well as discussions of data
gathering, sample forms, definitions, etc. (There are also volumes for the
1982 and 1987 Censuses at the same classification number.) There is not a
printed version of the 1997 History in the Library, but a
PDF version
|
For the first time in 1997, the Census of Agriculture was not conducted by the Census Bureau along with the other Economic Censuses, but was administered by the National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) under the Department of Agriculture. Therefore, 1997 Census of Agriculture data is not available directly from Census.gov. Here is a link to the main NASS Census page, on which there are links to geographic area, subject reports (including rankings by state and commodity) and special studies (such as irrigation and land ownership). Information on 1997 Census of Agriculture data in the Blume Library is included with the other Economic Census information below.
Economic Census
coverage![]()
Agriculture. C 3.31: . 1969- .
Prior to 1982, the Agriculture Census was taken on a 5-year schedule different
from the Economic Census; now they are on the same schedule. Prior to 1997,
the Census of Agriculture was administered by the Census Bureau. The Agriculture
Department's National Agricultural Statistics Service took over the Census
in 1997. The Library has printed volumes of data from the following
years:
1992 and later Agriculture Census data is available online from the Agriculture Dept.
Construction Industries. C 3.245: . 1967- . Includes information on general and special trade contractors, land subdividers and developers. Additions, repair and maintenance are included as well as work on new structures. Firms covered have 15 or more employees, with sample data covering smaller firms. The general SIC codes used to define construction activity are: SIC 15, 16, 17 and 6552. Subjects covered include: number employees, payroll, payments for various materials and services, receipts, fixed assets and depreciation.
Financial, Insurance and Real Estate Industries. C 3.291: . 1992- . Data on these sectors of the economy were provided for the first time in the 1992 Census. SIC codes covered by this series are: 60-65 and 67. Government-affiliated establishments, and establishments without payroll, are excluded. Subjects covered include revenue, payroll, and number of employees, with more specialized types of information available for some industries.
Manufactures. C 3.24: . 1963- . Provides statistics on firms involved in the mechanical or chemical transformation of materials or substances into new products. SIC codes used to define manufacturing activity are: SIC 20-39. Subjects covered include: employment, payroll, hours worked, inventories, capital expenditures, and costs of various materials and services.
Mineral Industries. C 3.216: . 1963- . Provides statistics on firms primarily involved in the extraction of minerals, whether solid, liquid or gaseous. SIC codes used to define this activity are SIC 10-14. Subjects covered include: employment, development and exploration, inventories, and depreciation and depletion.
Outlying Areas. C 3.253/2: . 1972- . Contains statistics gathered in the wholesale, retail and service Censuses for these areas: Guam, Marianas Islands, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands.
Retail Trade. C 3.255: . 1972- . Provides information on firms primarily involved in selling merchandise to the general public. Covers all retail establishments, including those without paid employees. SIC codes describing the kinds of businesses included are: SIC 52-59. Subjects covered: number of establishments, sales, payroll, employment, sole proprietorships and partnerships, legal form and size of firm. With the 1982 Census, a separate series was added, Major Retail Centers, which recompiles data into two types of areas: central business districts and major retail centers. All Metropolitan Areas in each state are covered.
Service Industries. C 3.257: . 1972- . SIC codes used to define service industries are: SIC 70, 72-73, 75-76, 78-81, 823, 824, 829, 83-84, 861, 862, 864, 869, and 89. Geography is detailed, with figures available for counties and incorporated places of 2500 or more in addition to larger areas. Subject areas covered include: number of establishments, receipts and revenues, payroll, expenses, employment, legal form and size of firm.
Transportation. C 3.233: . 1967- . SIC codes describing the kinds of businesses included are: SIC 42, 44, and 47. Subjects covered include size of firm legal form of organization, revenue size and employment size. With the 1992 Census, this survey was expanded to become the Census of Transportation, Communication and Utilities and the classification number for the printed reports was changed to C 3.292: .
Wholesale Trade. C 3.256: . 1972- . Provides information on firms with paid employees primarily engaged in selling merchandise to retailers, repair shops, industrial or commercial users, or other wholesalers. Reports contain information for the following kinds of businesses, by SIC code: SIC 501-509, 511-19. Subjects covered include: number of establishments, sales, payroll, employment, operating expenses, inventories, size of firm, legal form and type of operation.
Women-Owned Businesses. C 3.250: . 1972- .
Minority-Owned Businesses. C 3.258: . 1977- .
Gives information on these firms in the areas of receipts, employment and
payroll. Geographical areas covered are nation, states, Metropolitan Areas,
counties and places with more than 250 qualifying firms.
Governmental Finance Data
The main index page at Census.gov for government financial statistics offers links to data and publications in the following areas:
In addition, there is also a Census of Governments, taken on the same schedule as the other Economic Census; its reports are also linked from this page.
Most of the data available through Census.gov's Federal, State and Local
Government's programs are offered in various spreadsheet and/or flat datafile
formats.
Some publications are also offered in PDF format.
In
the Library, Census of Governments reports (1967-92) are shelved at C
3.145/.... Additional Government Finances reports (1967-92) can be found
at C 3.191/2....
Other Sources of Economic Data
Census.gov has this handy index page that covers all their recent publications relating to business and economics.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA). This Bureau, housed within the Commerce Department along with the Census Bureau, is primarily concerned with gathering and reporting statistics related to the Gross National Product. Information is available at their website by industry and by region, as well as for the country as a whole, and there is even some international balance of payments and GNP information reported. The Library has some important BEA publications in paper and CD format, notably:
Data from BEA's Regional Economic Information System, which used to be distributed on CD-ROM, is now available on the web at their site. Some re-packagers of government data, such as the Geospatial and Statistical Data Center at the University of Virginia, also provide this data.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS). This agency in the Labor Department is primarily concerned with prices, wages and jobs. They produce a number of important statistical series which are available on their website, as well as many that are also received in paper in the Library. The classification number for BLS publications in the Library is L 2. . Their "Economy at a Glance" page has a graph- and chart-creation feature, as well as an A-Z listing of topics which links to a wealth of current and archived data, explanations, and more.
The Federal Reserve system of banks offers various kinds of economic and financial data. The St. Louis branch seems to be particularly active. Their Liber8 system serves as an economic information portal, and their FRASER archive offers both current and historical data.
| Major Series. Primarily administered by the Census Bureau, the series of reports described below appear more frequently than the Economic Censuses. The most recent reports are probably not available in printed form in the Library (and some series are only available online). Links are given for websites where this information can be found. |
Annual Capital
Expenditures, Business Expenditures
Survey.
These
are reports of data from sample surveys that attempt to measure business
capital and operating expenditures. The reports are in PDF format.
Annual Survey of Manufactures. C 3.24/9: . 1962-
.![]()
Some years are not available, some have hardbound cumulations of separate
subject reports, some do not. Data is given for nation, states, cities, and
selected industrial counties. There are also subject series that cover
types of manufactured products. Current, and some historical, data is
available at
Census.gov.
Construction Reports. C 3. 215/.... 1963- .(some series began
more
recently)![]()
Statistics (monthly for some series) on construction activity: Housing Starts,
Value of New Construction, Building Permits, Expenditures for Residential
Repairs, New Homes Sold and for Sale, Housing Completions. Curren,
and some historical construction data, is available at
Census.gov.
Consolidated Federal Funds Reports. C 3.266/2: . 1983- /
.![]()

Federal Expenditures by State. C 3.266: . 1981- .
Statistics on federal expenditures (for grants, salaries, loans, contracts,
insurance, direct payments) by states, counties and subcounty areas. Data from 1993 to the present is available at Census.gov. The
Library has this information on CD-ROM from 1985- .
County Business Patterns. C 3.204: . 1964-
.![]()
Gives data by SIC code on number of establishments, employment and payroll.
Volumes are shelved by state, then by year. Reports for 1993- are available
in different ways at Census.gov. Here is a page with links to downloadable files, and here is a page with links to PDF files back to 1993. The Library has this data on CD-ROM from 1990- .
Current Industrial Reports. C 3.158: . 1977-1992.
Series of reports by subject. Some reports appear monthly, other quarterly
or annually. Data is given for nation, states and some cities.
From 1993 on, this
information is only available electronically or for purchase from the Census
Bureau. Reports for 1997- can be searched at
Census.gov (this link
takes you to the subject listing page).
Foreign Trade Reports. C 3.164: . 1964- .![]()
![]()
The most recent several years' reports are available in microfiche only;
earlier years are in storage. Series contain summary and detailed sub-series
on exports and imports by commodity and country. Some series are monthly,
some annual. (See also U.S. Exports/Imports
of Merchandise, on CD-ROM, below.) Some historical foreign trade
data is available at
Census.gov. For
more information on on foreign trade statistics, see the Census Bureau's
Guide to Foreign Trade Statistics C 3.6/2:F 76/992, which gives
descriptions and samples of tables from the various Foreign Trade Report
series, and lists of classification schedules, customs district codes,
documentation for files on CD-ROM indexes and countries in each world area.
A publication known as
Schedule B
gives the classification scheme used to report data on export commodities.
Statistical Abstract. C 3.134: . 1915, 1920- . 
Standard annual summary of U.S. social, political and economic statistics
with recent time series which vary from volume to volume. There is some
international data and a guide to sources of material. One copy of the most
recent edition is kept at the Reference Desk; the most recent five years
may not be checked out. Older editions circulate. Editions for 1994-
are also available on Reserve in CD-ROM and may be checked out for 7 days.
Statistical Abstracts back to 1878 are available at Census.gov (some years may be missing, but will be added as the digitization work continues). This link features the latest edition, for which, beginning with 2006, tables are available in Excel format. To see earlier editions, click on the link at the top of the page.
Statistics of U.S.
Businesses.
These
reports use data collected for the County Business Patterns reports and cover
basic data such as establishment size, payroll, etc. Reports can be downloaded
by year (1992, 1997, 1998, 1999) and some longitudinal studies are available
with data back to 1988. Most reports are in Excel
(spreadsheet)
or PDF
format.
U.S. Exports/Imports of Merchandise. C
3.278/2,3: Reserve.
![]()
Monthly (with cumulative year-to-date). The Library also has CDs with annual, and other, historical compilations, some back to 1989. The CDs give detailed information on commodities and countries. Current, and some historical, foreign trade statistics are also available at Census.gov.
Virtual Trade Reference Room.
This portal, provided by the International Trade Administration, focuses on statistics and other resources of interest, including U.S. and other government's data.
USA Counties. C 3.134/6:UN 3/ Reserve.
Extract of county data from the Statistical Abstract. The 1998 edition is available online at Census.gov.