Government Information

Congress, Laws and Regulations

[GPO]

List of Internet Sources

A - C • D - J K -SR - Z

50-State Legislative Tracking Web Resources (National Conference of State Legislatures): www.ncsl.org/programs/lis/lrl/50statetracking.htm
Active Legislation (U.S. Senate): www.senate.gov/pagelayout/legislative/b_three_sections_with_teasers/active_leg_page.htm
Administrative Decisions by Agency: www.lib.virginia.edu/govdocs/fed_decisions_agency.html
Almanac of Policy Issues: www.policyalmanac.org/
Annotated Constitution: www.law.cornell.edu/anncon/html/index.html
Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress (1774-  ):

Campaigns & Elections: www.campaignline.com/
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lawhome.html
Clerk of the House (roll call votes): clerk.house.gov/legislative/legvotes.html
Code of Federal Regulations: www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html
Conference Reports (GPO Access): www.gpoaccess.gov/confrpts/index.html
Congress Votes Database (Washington Post): projects.washingtonpost.com/congress/
Congressional Bills (GPO Access): www.gpoaccess.gov/bills/index.html
Congressional Budget Office: www.cbo.gov/
Congressional Committees Project wiki: www.dkosopedia.com/wiki/Congressional_Committees_Project
Congressional Committees (for which Blume Library has publications): library.stmarytx.edu/acadlib/doc/guides/congress/comlist.htm
Congressional Directory (from FDSys): www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CDIR
Congressional Documents Online (Rutgers Law School): lawlibrary.rutgers.edu/gdoc/search.shtml
Congressional Publications Research Guide (University of Delaware): www2.lib.udel.edu/subj/godc/resguide/congress.htm
Congressional Record

Congressional Research Tutorials (UC Berkeley Library): sunsite3.berkeley.edu/wikis/congresearch/
Congressional Serial Set: Hidden Treasures of American History: www-personal.umich.edu/~graceyor/sersetweb/serset1.html
Congressional Universe.(This database is available use AT THE LAW LIBRARY ONLY): web.lexis-nexis.com/congcomp/
CQ Moneyline: moneyline.cq.com/pml/home.do
CQ Press Political Reference Suite (available on-campus and off-campus to St. Mary's students/faculty only): library.cqpress.com/prs/
CRS (Congressional Research Service) Annotated Constitution (from Cornell's Legal Information Institute): straylight.law.cornell.edu/anncon/authorship.html
C-Span Congressional Chronicle: www.c-spanarchives.org/congress/
C-Span Congressional Resources: www.c-span.org/resources/congress.asp

[Back to top]

Dirksen Center: www.dirksencenter.org/ (Congressional Information Center: capwiz.com/cl/directory/congdir.tt)
Documents Received List (publications in the Blume Library): library.stmarytx.edu/acadlib/doc/us/recd/index.htm
Enactment of a Law (Thomas): thomas.loc.gov/home/enactment/enactlawtoc.html
e-Rulemaking Web Sites (National Archives): www.archives.gov/federal-register/public-participation/rulemaking-sites.html
Fast Facts for Congress: fastfacts.census.gov/
FDSys (Federal Digital System): www.fdsys.gov

Federal Court Locator (Villanova Law School): www.law.villanova.edu/Library/Research Guides/Federal Court Locator.aspx
Federal Election Commission: www.fec.gov/
Federal Judicial Center: www.fjc.gov/public/home.nsf
Federal Legislative History Research: A Practitioner's Guide to Compiling the Documents and Sifting for Legislative Intent (Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.): www.llsdc.org/fed-leg-hist/
Federal Register (GPO Access): www.gpoaccess.gov/fr/index.html
Federal Register Tutorial: www.archives.gov/federal-register/tutorial/
Federal Regulations (Cornell Law Library): www.lawschool.cornell.edu/library/guides/fedregs/
Fedlaw: www.thecre.com/fedlaw/default.htm
Final Status of Selected Legislation (Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C; 110th Congress.): www.llsdc.org/attachments/wysiwyg/544/Status110.pdf
General Legal Research Sites—Free and Commercial (Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.: www.llsdc.org/Gen-Legal-Research/
Government Resources (Library of Congress): thomas.loc.gov/links/
Govpulse: www.govpulse.us/
GovTrack: www.govtrack.us/
GPO Access: www.gpoaccess.gov/
Guide to Law Online (Law Library of Congress): www.loc.gov/law/guide/index.html
Guide to Understanding the Superintendent of Documents Numbering System: library.stmarytx.edu/acadlib/doc/guides/sudocs.htm
History of Bills (FDSys):www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=HOB
House Committee Information
: www.house.gov/house/CommitteeWWW.shtml
House of Representatives Web Page: www.house.gov/
How Our Laws Are Made (Thomas): thomas.loc.gov/home/lawsmade.toc.html
How to Compile a Legislatiave History: www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/usgd/leghis.html
Information by Subject (Blume Library): http://stmarytx.libguides.com/index.php
Internet Law Library

NOTE: The Internet Law Library orginally was maintained by the House of Representatives. When they ceased supporting the venture, the files were picked up by several different hosts. Pritchard Law Webs and LawGuru.com are two of these that seem committed to continuing to maintain the databases and link collection.

[Back to top]

Law Library Microform Consortium (collection of digitized documents): ets.umdl.umich.edu/cgi/t/text/text-idx?g=llmc;page=home
Law Student Guide to Free Legal Research on the Internet: freelaw.classcaster.net/
Lawmaking in the United States: www.uic.edu/depts/lib/documents/resources/lawmaking.html
Laws and Links Related to General Federal Agency Operations (Legislative Sourcebook): www.llsdc.org/laws-links/
Legal Process (North Harris Community College): www.lonestar.edu/library/14988.htm
Legal Significance of Presidential Signing Statements (Dept. of Justice memorandum): www.usdoj.gov/olc/signing.htm
Legislative Branch Resources (Columbia University): www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/usgd/legislative.html
Legislative Information
(Yale University): www.library.yale.edu/govdocs/legislat.html
Legislative Process (Columbia University): www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/usgd/legproc.html
Legislative Process (Indiana University's Center on Congress): congress.indiana.edu/learn_about/topic/legislative_process.php
Legislative Process Resources (Bowling Green University): libguides.bgsu.edu/legislative
Legislative Research (Univ. of Michigan): www-personal.umich.edu/~graceyor/doctemp/softwarebi/index.html
Legislative Resources (Bills, Laws, Reports, Congressional Record, etc.) from GPO Access: www.gpoaccess.gov/legislative.html
Legislative Source Book (Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C): www.llsdc.org/sourcebook/
LegiStorm: www.legistorm.com/
LOUIS (database of searchable hearings, reports, and other documents from Sunlight Foundation): www.louisdb.org/
MasterFile Premier (database; click on the database name from this list): library.stmarytx.edu/acadlib/indexes/dblist.htm
National Archives and Records Administration's (NARA) web harvesting information page: webharvest.gov/
Numerical Lists and Schedule of Volumes (GPO Access): www.gpoaccess.gov/serialset/numerical.html
Online Catalog (Blume Library): regina.stmarytx.edu
OpenCongress: www.opencongress.org/
OpenSecrets.org: www.opensecrets.org/
Overview of the Congressional Record and Its Predecessor Publications: www.llsdc.org/cong-record/
Overview of the Development of U.S. Congressional Committees: www.llsdc.org/attachments/wysiwyg/544/Cong-Cmte-Overview.pdf
Policy Agendas Project: www.policyagendas.org/
Polticial Information.com: www.politicalinformation.com/
Project Vote-Smart: www.vote-smart.org/ (Congress: www.vote-smart.org/official_congress.php/ )
Public Policy Matrix (adapted from the University of Michigan): library.stmarytx.edu/acadlib/doc/matrix.htm
Quick Links to House & Senate Committee Hearings & Other Publications: www.llsdc.org/quick-links/

[Back to top]

Reg Map (General Services Administration): www.reginfo.gov/public/reginfo/Regmap/regmap.pdf
Reginfo.gov (General Services Administration): reginfo.gov
Regulations: A Research Guide (University of Delaware): www2.lib.udel.edu/subj/godc/resguide/regulaw.htm
Regulations.gov (GPO Access): www.regulations.gov
Regulatory Information from GPO Access (now on Executive Branch Resources page): www.gpoaccess.gov/executive.html
Remote Access to Restricted Databases: library.stmarytx.edu/acadlib/indexes/plugin.htm
Research Guide to the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations (Law Librarians Society of Washington, D.C.): www.llsdc.org/fed-reg-cfr/
Roll Call Online: www.rollcall.com
Search Across Multiple Databases page (from GPO Access): www.gpoaccess.gov/multidb.html
Secretary of the Senate (roll call votes): www.senate.gov/legislative/legis_act_rollcall.html
Senate Committee Information: www.senate.gov/pagelayout/committees/d_three_sections_with_teasers/committees_home.htm
Senate Web Page: www.senate.gov/
Sessions of Congress with Corresponding Debate Record Volume Numbers (PDF): www.llsdc.org/attachments/wysiwyg/544/sess-cong.pdf
State Government Information Index: library.stmarytx.edu/acadlib/doc/us/states/index.htm
State/Local Governments (Library of Congress): lcweb.loc.gov/global/state/stategov.html
State Statutes by Topic (Cornell Legal Information Institute): www.law.cornell.edu/topics/state_statutes.html
State Supreme Court Data Project: www.ruf.rice.edu/%7Epbrace/statecourt/index.html
Statements of Administration Policy on Appropriations and Non-Appropriations Bills: www.whitehouse.gov/omb/legislative/sap/index.html
Statutes at Large

Statutory Law Research Guide: www2.lib.udel.edu/subj/godc/resguide/statutor.htm

[Back to top]

Table of Congressional Publication Volumes and Presidential Issuances (Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.): www.llsdc.org/attachments/wysiwyg/544/tab-cong.pdf
Thomas (Library of Congress): thomas.loc.gov/ (Thomas FAQ: thomas.loc.gov/home/faqlist.html ; Thomas (roll call votes): thomas.loc.gov/home/rollcallvotes.html)
Tying It All Together (House of Representatives): www.house.gov/house/Tying_it_all.html
Update to A Guide the U.S. Federal Legal System: Web-Based Publicly Accessible Sources: www.llrx.com/features/us_fed2.htm
U.S. Code

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Finding List (Wooster College): www.wooster.edu/library/gov/serialset/main.htm
U.S. Government Documents at Columbia: www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/butlref/subj/amhist/usgovdocs.html
U.S. Senate Bibliographies (listing of Senate Hearings, Prints and Publications since 1983, compiled by North Carolina State Univ. Libraries): www.lib.ncsu.edu/congbibs/senate/
U.S. Statutes and U.S. Code: Historical Outlines, Notes, Lists, Tables, and Sources (Law Librarians Society of Washington, D.C.): www.llsdc.org/statutes-code/
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: www.gpoaccess.gov/wcomp/index.html
Years and Session Dates of the U.S. Congress: www.gpoaccess.gov/help/congress_table.html

Back to Congress, Laws and Regulations Guide