Archives
![]()
Sources in the Blume Library and on the Web
In the Library
(NOTE: Call numbers given after each title are in the Main Floor Federal Documents Collection, unless preceded by a REF or FIRST or THIRD FLOOR designation.)
The National Archives (NARA). NOTE: NARA publications dated prior to 1986 are classified GS 4.; after that date, AE 2.
Other Archives
Guide to the Research Collections of Former U.S. Senators, 1789-1982.
(Y 1.1/2:13444). 1983.
Guide to the Research Collections of Former Members of the U.S. House
of Representatives, 1789-1987. ( Y 1.1/2:13872). Identifies repositories
of papers, oral history tapes and tape transcripts.
Special Collections in the Library of Congress. (LC 1.6/4:C 68). 1980. Describes collections selected by the Library's reference staff for their rarity or potential interest to scholars. An appendix reviews the Library's different divisions; index.
Major Sites
National Archives (NARA) Research Room. This is the main section of the National Archives site that deals with their collections of archives, which includes all official records from all Federal agencies. From it you can access the Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives, which describes the collections held by the Archives in Washington, or at its related facilities through out the country. The Access to Archival Databases system allows access to "some" of NARA's electronic archives. (The Archival Research Catalog is an analogous listing of the non-electronic collections at NARA.)
If you are interested in archives dealing with a particular topic, check NARA's Research by Selected Topics page, which lists archival collections by broad subject area such as "Civil Rights," "Prohibition," "Watergate," etc.
UNESCO Archives Portal. This site is a collection of links to national, sub-national and municipal government archives, as well as archives located in universities and research institutions the world over. Click on the "More" link on their main page and find listings by subjects such as Business and Labour, Military, Religious Communities, Womens', etc. The links collection may be browsed by type of archive, regionally, or may be searched by keyword. The site also provides access to a plethora of related resources, such as finding aids, archives organizations, other portals, and information for education and conservation.
The Government Documents Roundtable of the American Library Association is collecting links to digital archival records at the state level, such as birth and death records, cemetery markers, war pension rolls, etc.
Government Information on the Web Subject Index
In addition to the major government websites described above, headings listed below might lead you to useful information in these specific areas: