Sources in the Blume Library and on the Web
In the Library
(NOTE: Call numbers given after each title are in the Main Floor Federal Documents Collection, unless preceded by a REF or FIRST or THIRD FLOOR designation.)
General Reference Sources
|Library of Congress bibliographies. Many
useful research bibliographies can be found under the call number LC
1.12/2:.... Several of these pertain to publications about, or from,
particular countries or parts of the world. Some examples are: The U.S.
and Africa: 1785-1975 (LC 1.12/2:Af 8/2/785-975); Japanese National
Government Publications in the Library of Congress (LC 1.12/2:J 27/3);
Human Rights in Latin America (LC 1.12/2:L 34/2/964-70); Unveiling
Indonesia: Indonesian Holdings in the Library of Congress (LC 1.12/2:IN
2/5); The Hispanic World: 1492-1898 (LC 1.12/2:H 62/2).
Background Notes. These booklets from the State Dept. are no longer received in printed form, but we have retained the latest issues for each country that we did receive, at S 1.123: . They give concise factual information on land, history, government, economy, etc., for nearly 200 countries. Reading lists are included. The series is continued in electronic form, so that more recent information can be found at this State Dept. web site.
|Country Reports on Human Rights Practices. (Y 4. F 76/1-15:
). 1979- . Reviews the human rights records of all nations receiving
U.S. foreign aid, plus some which do not, but are members of the United Nations.
Appendixes include signatories of human rights agreements and statistical
tables of U.S. aid. The reports for 1995 to the present are online at
this State Dept. web
site. A companion set of reports, Country Reports on Economic and
Trade Policies, are shelved at: Y 4.IN 8/16:C 83/ . Reports for
1993-2001 are online at
State Dept. web site. No further reports were produced.
Country Studies. (Individually cataloged and shelved on the Third Floor; consult Online Catalog for call numbers.) Detailed analyses of social, political and economic institutions for most countries. Include extensive bibliographies. These books are also no longer being produced in printed form, but are available online from the Library of Congress' Research Division.
World Factbook. (PREX 3.15: ). 1983- . Brief entries for all countries give basic demographic, geographic, and social data. Current factbook is online from the CIA, which compiles the data.
On the Web
Library of Congress Portals to the World. Collections of links by country selected by experts at the Library of Congress. This page is part of the Library's Global Gateway, which provides links to information and resources with an international focus that have been developed by the Library.
State Department Countries and Regions page. Links to current information on all and individual countries. Under "Regions" there are links to the Department's various regional bureaus, where more detailed information, and some archival material, can be found.
The U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) provides information about current and historical U.S. foreign aid in its "Green book." The website provides standard tables and the ability to construct customized tables.
See our "Other Government-Related Sites" page for additional web sites. It is divided into the following sections of interest:
International and Intergovernmental. This section includes links to portals and databases of international information, to guides to international/intergovernmental information, and to specific international/intergovernmental organizations such as the United Nations and the World Bank
Foreign Governments. This section provides links to pages with directories of foreign government agencies and information. There are separate sub-sections for North America and Europe.
Government Information on the Web Subject Index
In addition to the major websites on the "Other Government-Related sites page, headings listed below might lead you to useful information in these specific areas: (NOTE: you can also look under the names of individual countries)
|Asia||Geography/Geographic Information||Middle East|
|Europe||International Information||South Asia|
|Foreign Countries||Latin America|