Blume Library home

Government Information in the
Study of History

GPO Access

"Who knows, Dr. Jones? Perhaps in 1000 years even you will be worth something." — Raiders of the Lost Ark

This set of guides has 2 purposes:

Therefore, each of the guide's sections is subdivided into

I welcome suggestions for additions and improvements to the guides, and they will be updated as I find new sources of information to include.

A note regarding internet sources: there is certainly a bias on the web in favor of the most current information. But, that said, there are many wonderful sources of historical material online, and some agencies and organizations are making an effort to preserve their historical records and materials electronically. I hope these guides will be helpful in locating this information.


What's Included

From the standpoint of historical research, any and all government publications could be considered as potential primary research materials. To limit the scope of these guides, therefore, to a manageable amount of material, only the following types of material are included:

  • primary print materials in significant compilations or in long runs covering many years.
  • significant sets of primary materials dealing with major events in history, such as the Nixon impeachment hearings, the Kennedy assasination, etc.
  • major secondary print reference works, with particular emphasis on bibliographies
  • web sites with substantial reference value such as "portals" and meta-sites dealing with history
  • links to more specific electronic publications can be found on the websites of the libraries linked in our Government Information on the Web Subject Index (relevant headings in this index are included in each section of this guide)

In addition, I have given information about publications of specific agencies, usually those with limited scope, and about major series, that might be of interest to the historian.

The Library's Collection

Particularly when searching for older material in any library, it helps to know something about the history of the collection.

The Blume Library (then called the Academic Library) became a U.S. documents depository in 1964. Most of our printed material, therefore, is of that vintage or more recent.

However, the Library was in possession at this time of some government documents that had been published prior to 1964 and purchased. Most of this material was integrated into the new documents collection, and shelved on the main floor with Superintendent of Documents classification numbers. A few older government publications have remained in the Library of Congress classification system and were not moved to the Documents Collection. Most of these titles are not included in this guide; exceptions include a few massive bibliographies in REF Z (in the General Resources section).

Readers of this guide will notice immediately that no single agency is responsible for all publications relating to history. Because of this dispersion of pertinent material throughout the Federal government, users of government information are urged to use the Library Online Catalog and the indexes described in our "Government Information Basic Guide." Browsing in the documents stacks can turn up many relevant items through serendipity. But for a comprehensive search on any topic, use of the indexes is essential. Other Government Documents Guides—"Congress, Laws and Regulations," "Census Bureau Information" and "Guide to U.S. Government Information in Science and Technology"—may also be useful. Also be aware that other libraries in the city may have more extensive collections in certain areas than we do, and we may borrow from these libraries. Ask a librarian for assistance if you have difficulty finding the information you need.

Another handy publication is the American Library Association's Using Primary Sources on the Web. Not limited to government sources, it offers many tips on finding, evaluating and citing primary sources, a category of materials into which many government publications fall.

PicoSearch
  Help
Site Search by PicoSearch

bookstackGeneral Sources

calendar History of Governmental Institutions

Military Historyswords

Area Studiesglobe

castleHistorical Places

Honest Abe Biography

atom History of Science and Technology

peopleSocial and Labor History

Ancient History, Anthropology & Archeologycastle wall

file box List of sources

[flag banner]

[flag banner]

Louis J. Blume Library St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria • San Antonio, TX 78228
Reference : (210) 436-3508 • Circulation: (210) 436-3430