History of Science and Technology
Sources in the Blume Library and on the Web

Gov. Info Home > Guides > History > Science/Technology

In the Library

(NOTE: Call numbers given after each title are in the Main Floor Federal Documents Collection, unless preceded by a REF or FIRST or THIRD FLOOR designation.)
Agriculture Yearbook. (A 1.10: ). 1920-1993. Devoted to a different topic each year, they contain articles and illustrations, some statistics, and usually an index.

Bibliography of the History of Medicine. (HE 20.3615:). Annual. 1964-1993. Covers articles, monographs, and conference proceedings world-wide. One section contains references to biographical information on the medical histories of famous persons, medical aspects of artistic works, and biographies of those in health related professions. A second section indexes references by subject, subdivided, where appropriate, by geographical or chronological headings. There is a detailed contents list of subject headings which includes cross references.

Bulletin of the U.S. National Museum (SI 3.3:). 1957-70; and  Proceedings of the U.S. National Museum (SI 3.6:). 1899-1968 (v.21-125). Some early numbers of each series are missing. Each Bulletin is a scholarly monograph; each volume of Proceedings is a collection of scholarly articles. These volumes are in storage but may be retrieved, usually within 24 hours. Contact the Government Information Librarian if you need to see any of them.

  Minerals Yearbook. (I 28.37:, I 19.165: after 1995). 1930- . (Some early years are missing.) Comprehensive review of U.S. and foreign mineralogical and metallurgical developments; statistics; domestic volume includes a chapter on each state.

NASA Special Publications, beginning with number 4201 (NAS 1.21:4201--). Histories of various NASA projects, such as Project Mercury (#4201), Skylab (#4208), etc.

National Air & Space Museum (SI 9). These publications utilize the museum's collections, which memorialize the history of manned flight of all types. We receive all available publications. Of particular interest is the series Annals of Flight (SI 9.9:), consisting of 10 volumes published from 1964-74.

Smithsonian Year (SI 1.1:). Earlier title is Annual Report. Annual. 1930- . Reports activities of the major government science museum.

Studies in History and Technology (SI 1.28:). Papers reporting on research using the Smithsonian's collections.

Geological Survey (USGS).
  • Bibliography of North American Geology I 19.3:834 ... 1269. 1929-69 (some years are missing).
  • Publications of the Geological Survey. I 19.14: . 1879-2000. Some volumes cover several years.
  • Quality of Surface Waters of the U.S. (I 19.13:2091-2100, 2141-2160). 1968-69.
  • Surface Water Supply of the U.S., 1966-1970. (I 19.13:2101-2137).

The Library has long retrospective runs of the following USGS series and all volumes later than 1976 appear in the Online Catalog (some early numbers in each series are missing):

  • Bulletins (I 19.3:834- )
  • Circulars (I 19.4/2:414- )
  • Professional Papers (I 19.16:306-)

On the Web

NOTE: for more information on sources related to science and technology that might be useful in the study of history, see our Guide to U.S. Government Information in Science and Technology.

Major Sites

Smithsonian Institution.  This complex of museums and research institutes is not only a favorite of tourists visiting Washington, it has a considerable web presence, with online exhibitions, resources for children and teachers, and background information on the subjects of its many and varied collections. The primary focus of the museum system is science and technology, but there are units dealing with art and history as well. These are the most important components of the Smithsonian system online:

National Aeronautics and Space Administration History Office. All historical aspects of the space program are covered with a variety of materials: descriptions of various missions and entire programs, chronologies, biographies of astronauts and other NASA personnel, technology spinoffs, and a large collection of images. There is a site map, a listing of major subject areas, and a keyword search capability to aid in using the site.

National Library of Medicine: History of Medicine. This site serves as an entry site for the Library's collections of books, journals, photographs, etc., many of which are available online. There is also a substantial listing of additional resources which includes a variety of PDF reports on topics of interest, as well as other specialized collections and features.

Government Information on the Web Subject Index

In addition to the major government websites described above, headings listed below might lead you to useful  information in these specific areas:
Aeronautics/Aerospace   Engineering   Science/Technology
Aviation   Environment   Smithsonian Institution
Biology...   Geology   Space
Earth Sciences  

Natural Resources