Social and Labor History
Sources in the Blume Library and on the Web

Gov. Info Home > Guides > History > Social and Labor

In the Library

(NOTE: Call numbers given after each title are in the Main Floor Federal Documents Collection, unless preceded by a REF or FIRST or THIRD FLOOR designation.)

Major Reference Sources and Series

NOTE: Census Bureau publications contain a great deal of statistical and other material useful in the study of history.
For information on this portion of the Library's collection, see our guide to Census Bureau Information.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Bulletins (L 2.3: ). Statistical and other information on the labor force, prices, working conditions, etc. The Library has a few older numbers from the 1920's and 1930's but the bulk of the collection begins in the 1960's.

Civil Rights Commission hearings. The Commission conducted hearings during the 1960's and 1970's in various cities aroung the nation and on various topics relating to civil rights: discrimination, immigration, Native American issues, etc. The volumes held by the Library are classified CR 1.8: .

Condition of Education. (1975- . ED 1.109: .) Statistical coverage of elementary, secondary and higher education. Editions beginning with 2000 are available online from the Department of Education.

Crime in the United States. (1960- . J 1.14/7: ). Statistics on crimes and law enforcement based on arrest records. Available online from the FBI for 1995 to the present.

Digest of Education Statistics. (1969- . ED 1.326: ). Covers all aspects of education at all levels, pre-school through college, and including vocational and other adult educational programs. Editions back to 1996 are available online from the Department of Education.

Handbook of Labor Statistics (volumes for 1929, 1931: L 2.3:491, 541; 1967-1985: L 2.3/5: ). The old volumes in this standard statistical compendium contain contain analysis and reports in addition to tables of data. The newer editions provide statistics only.

Households, Families and Children; a 30-year Perspective. (C 3.186:P 23-181). Charts, tables and some narrative covering demographics, social and economic statistics.

Job Patterns for Minorities and Women in Private Industry. (1966- . Y 3. EQ 2/12-7: ). Statistics on race, ethnic group, salaries and types of employment. This series has had title changes since 1966. At that time it was called the Equal Employment Opportunity Report; then it became Minorities and Women in Private Industry before assuming its current title. Most recent years are in microfiche. Reports back to 1998 are available online from the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.

Labor Force Statistics Derived from the Current Population Survey, 1948-87. (L 2.3:2307). Compilation of monthly, quarterly and yearly statistics from various labor force series of the CPS. There are numerous cross-tabulations by age, educational level, sex, marital status, etc.

Papers on U.S. Immigration History. (Y 3.Im 6/2:2 Im 6/app.). 1981. Published with reports of the Select Commission on Immigration and Refugee Policy. Volumes of background studies cover refugees, legal and illegal immigration, temporary workers, etc.

Working Women; a Chartbook. (L 2.3:2385). Charts, tables and some narrative covering the period 1960-90.

Agencies

The following agencies are the most important producers of material of interest to the social historian:

On the Web

Major Sites

NOTE: Census Bureau websites contain a great deal of statistical and other material useful in the study of history.
For information on these sites, see our guide to Census Bureau Information.
Bureau of Justice Statistics. This agency compiles and collects statistics in the following areas, with archival information often available:
  • Corrections
  • Courts and Sentencing
  • Crime and Victims
  • Criminal Offenders
  • Federal Justice System
  • Law Enforcement
  Bureau of Labor Statistics. This agency is the primary government compiler of statistics in the field of labor economics. They are also responsible for the various price indexes that track inflation. The major subject areas of their data (which have varying amounts of archival coverage) are:
  • Demographics
  • Employment and Unemployment
  • Geography
  • Inflation and Consumer Spending
  • Occupations
  • Productivity
  • Wages, Earnings and Benefits
The Dept. of Labor has made much of its Wirtz Library's collection available as an online archive. The archive includes Labor Dept. publications, statistical abstracts, biographies of historical figures, etc.

Human Rights: Defending Human Dignity. This website is maintained by the State Departmentn as part of its America.gov: Telling America's Story website. These pages are designed for an international audience, to assist them in understanding the strengths and positive attributes of American society and values, and of our democratic political system. The sub-section on American Life includes a Diversity topic, whose page links to news, articles, statistics and historical information.

Another useful site dealing with the civil rights movement of the early 1960's is provided by the Dirksen Congressional Center. It focusses on Congressional activity during this period, relating to the landmark legislation passed at that time. And, looking at human rights on a larger scale of time and place, the National Archives offers this website dealing with the history of human rights in the U.K. from 1215 to 1945, with timelines and links to digital documents.

Famous American Trials. Many, though not all, of the trials covered on this site developed by a law professor at the University of Missouri-Kansas City were held in the U.S. Information given includes links to official documents, background and analytical studies, contemporary and later reactions, maps, photographs and other illustrations as relevant.

The Thurgood Marshall Library at the University of Maryland School of Law offers a digitized collection of Historical Publications of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights. Files are in PDF format and extend back to the formation of the Commission in 1957.

Harvard's Library has a project called "Women Working, 1900-1930," which includes digitized copies of many of the Labor Department's Womens Bureau Bulletins published during this period. This link leads to a listing of the Bulletins by number. They may also be searched as part of the entire collection. The Womens Bureau published many significant statistical studies on women in the labor force.

Oklahoma State University has digitized a major reference resource–Kappler's Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties.

Government Information on the Web Subject Index

In addition to the major websites described above, headings listed below might lead you to useful information in these specific areas:
Asian Americans/Pacific Islanders   Hispanic Americans   Railroads
Black Americans   Holocaust   Slavery
Buffalo Soldiers   Human Rights   Social Welfare
Census/Demographics   Immigration/Foreign Travel   Statistics
Civil Rights   Jews/Judaism   Suffrage, Women's
Depression, Great   Labor   Terrorism
Education   Minorities   Titanic
Ethnic Groups   Native Americans   Tuskegee Institute
Genealogy   Race/Ethnicity   UFOs