Government Information in the
Study of History

Web Sources Index

Gov. Info Home > Guides > History > Web sources

A - C • D - H I - P R - Z

Access to Archival Databases System: aad.archives.gov/aad
Air Force Historical Research Agency: www.afhra.af.mil/documents/index.asp
Air Force Museum: www.nationalmuseum.af.mil/
America.gov: Telling America's Story: www.america.gov/
American Memory: memory.loc.gov/ammem/
American Presidency Project (University of California, Santa Barbara; digital Public Papers of the Presidents): www.presidency.ucsb.edu/
AmericanPresident: millercenter.org/academic/americanpresident
Annals of Congress: lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwac.html
Archival Research Catalog: www.archives.gov/research/arc/index.html
Army Heritage Collection Online: www.ahco.army.mil/site/index.jsp
Astronaut Biographies: www.jsc.nasa.gov/Bios/
Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy: www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/avalon.htm
Bill Clinton Presidential Materials Project: www.clinton.archives.gov/
Biographical Databases: wikis.ala.org/godort/index.php/Biographical_Databases
Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress (1774-  )

Budget of the U.S. Government: www.gpoaccess.gov/usbudget/index.html
Built in America: memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/habs_haer/
Bureau of American Ethnology (Annual Reports): gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/cb37575968z/date
Bureau of Justice Statistics: www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/welcome.html
Bureau of Labor Statistics
: www.bls.gov/

Census Bureau Information: library.stmarytx.edu/acadlib/doc/guides/census/lbgdcen.htm
Charters of Freedom: www.archives.gov/national-archives-experience/charters/charters.html
Checklist of U.S. Public Documents, 1789-1909 (Evergreen State College): www.evergreen.edu/library/govdocs/tools/1909checklist/index.html
Civil Rights Documentation Project (Dirksen Congressional Center): www.congresslink.org/civilrights/
Compilation of Presidential Documents: www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CPD
Condition of Education: nces.ed.gov/programs/coe/
Congress, Legislation, etc.
: http://stmarytx.libguides.com/congress
Congressional Globe
: lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwcg.html
Congressional Record

Congressional Serial Set: Hidden Treasures in American History: www-personal.umich.edu/~graceyor/sersetweb/serset1.html
Core Documents of U.S. Democracy: www.gpoaccess.gov/coredocs.html
Countries and Regions (State Dept.): www.state.gov/countries/
Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Policies: www.state.gov/www/issues/economic/trade_reports/index.html
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: www.state.gov/g/drl/hr/c1470.htm
Country Studies: lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
CQ Press Political Reference Suite (available on-campus and off-campus to St. Mary's students/faculty only): library.cqpress.com/prs/
Crime in the U.S. (Uniform Crime Reports): www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm
Defense Prisoner of War/Missing Personnel Office: www.dtic.mil/dpmo/
Defenselink: www.defenselink.mil
Dictionary of American Naval Fighting Ships: www.hazegray.org/danfs/
Digest of Education Statistics: nces.ed.gov/programs/digest/
Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention: memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/continental/
Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Library: www.eisenhower.utexas.edu/

Electronic Research Collection (University of Chicago/State Dept.): dosfan.lib.uic.edu/ERC/index.html
FedFlix (National Archives and Records Administration)
FEMA History (Federal Emergency Management Agency): www.fema.gov/about/history.shtm
Famous Trials: www.law.umkc.edu/faculty/projects/FTrials/ftrials.htm
Finding Supreme Court Cases: library.stmarytx.edu/acadlib/subject/polisci/courts.htm
Foreign Relations of the U.S.

Founding Fathers: Delegates to the Consitutional Convention: www.archives.gov/exhibits/charters/constitution_founding_fathers.html
Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library: www.fdrlibrary.marist.edu/
Genealogy/Family History (National Archives Research Room): archives.gov/genealogy/
Genealogical Resources in U.S. Federal Depository Libraries (Oklahoma Dept. of Libraries): www.odl.state.ok.us/usinfo/GenealogicalResources.pdf
George Bush Presidential Library: bushlibrary.tamu.edu/
Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library: www.ford.utexas.edu/
Global Gateway (Library of Congress): international.loc.gov/intldl/intldlhome.html
Government Information Basic Guide: library.stmarytx.edu/acadlib/doc/guides/lbgdbas.htm
Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives: archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/index.html
Guide to U.S. Government Information in Science and Technology: library.stmarytx.edu/acadlib/doc/guides/scitech/scitech.htm
Harry S. Truman Presidential Library: www.trumanlibrary.org/
Herbert Hoover Presidential Library: hoover.archives.gov/
Historic Government Publications from World War II (Southern Methodist University): worldwar2.smu.edu
Historical Media Databases: wikis.ala.org/godort/index.php/Historical_Media_Databases
Historical Publications of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights (University of Maryland School of Law): www.law.umaryland.edu/marshall/usccr/index.asp
History, Education and Culture (Youth/Education)
(State Dept.): state.gov/history/
History of the National Park Service: www.cr.nps.gov/history/hisnps/NPSHistory.htm
House Journal: memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwhj.html
Human Rights (National Archives): www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/humanrights/

Impeachment Documents Relating to a U.S. President (Auburn Univ.): www.lib.auburn.edu/madd/docs/impeach.html
Inaugural Addresses (Avalon Project): avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/inaug.asp
Jimmy Carter Presidential Library: www.jimmycarterlibrary.org/
Job Patterns for Minorities and Women in Private Industry: www.eeoc.gov/eeoc/statistics/employment/jobpat-eeo1/index.cfm
John F. Kennedy Presidential Library: www.jfklibrary.org/
Judges of the U.S. Courts: www.fjc.gov/history/home.nsf
Judiciary Committee Supreme Court nominee hearings: www.gpoaccess.gov/congress/senate/judiciary/scourt.html
Kappler's Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties: digital.library.okstate.edu/kappler/index.htm
Law Library Microform Consortium (collection of digitized documents): ets.umdl.umich.edu/cgi/t/text/text-idx?g=llmc;page=home
Library of Congress American Memory:: memory.loc.gov/ammem/
Lyndon Baines Johnson Presidential Library: www.lbjlib.utexas.edu/
Medal of Honor Recipients: www.history.army.mil/moh.html
Miller Center on Public Affairs, University of Virginia: millercenter.org/
National Aeronautics and Space Administration History Office: history.nasa.gov/
National Air and Space Museum: www.nasm.si.edu/
National Archeological Database: web.cast.uark.edu/other/nps/nadb/nadb.mul.html
National Archives and Records Administration : www.archives.gov/ (Research Room: archives.gov/research/index.html, Web Harvest information page: webharvest.gov/collections/peth04/ )
National First Ladies Library: www.firstladies.org/index.htm
National Library of Medicine: History of Medicine: www.nlm.nih.gov/hmd/
National Museum of American History : americanhistory.si.edu/
National Museum of Natural History: www.mnh.si.edu/
National Park Service: www.nps.gov/
National Park Service History and Culture: www.nps.gov/history/
National Portrait Gallery: www.npg.si.edu/
National Register Information System: www.nps.gov/history/nr/research/index.htm
National Register of Historic Places: www.cr.nps.gov/nr/index.htm
National Zoo: nationalzoo.si.edu/
Naval Historical Center: www.history.navy.mil/
Nixon Presidential Materials (National Archives): nixon.archives.gov/
Nixontapes.org: www.nixontapes.org/
NOAA History (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration): www.history.noaa.gov/

[Top]

Office of the Historian (State Dept.): (history.state.gov/ )
Official Federal Land Patent Records Site: www.glorecords.blm.gov/
Official Records Databases: wikis.ala.org/godort/index.php/Official_Records_Databases
Other Government-Related Sites: library.stmarytx.edu/acadlib/doc/othergov.htm
Our Documents (National Archives): www.ourdocuments.gov/
Park Histories: www.nps.gov/history/history/park_histories/index.htm
Portals to the World (Library of Congress): www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html
Presidential Directives and Executive Orders (Fed. of American Scientists): www.fas.org/irp/offdocs/direct.htm
Presidential Directives and Where to Find Them: www.loc.gov/rr/news/directives.html
Presidential Documents Guide: www.archives.gov/presidential-libraries/research/guide.html
Presidential Libraries: www.archives.gov/presidential-libraries/
Presidential Papers, Speeches and Executive Orders: libweb.uoregon.edu/govdocs/guide_prespapers.html
Presidential Recordings Program: millercenter.org/academic/presidentialrecordings
Press and Public Affairs (Issues and Press) (State Dept.): www.state.gov/press/
Public Papers of the Presidents

Recommended Veterans and Military Research Links: www.archives.gov/veterans/research/research-links.html
Register of Debates: lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwrd.html
Registry of U.S. Government Publication Digitization Projects (registry.fdlp.gov/ )
Research in Military Records: www.archives.gov/genealogy/military/
Research by Selected Topics (National Archives Research Room): www.archives.gov/research/topics.html
Ronald Reagan Presidential Library: www.reagan.utexas.edu/
Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center : www.rbhayes.org/hayes/
Senate Executive Journal: memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwej.html
Senate Journal: memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwsj.html
Serial Set: www.gpoaccess.gov/legislative.html
Smithsonian Institution : www.si.edu/

Soldier-Statesmen of the Constitution: www.army.mil/cmh-pg/books/RevWar/ss/ss-fm.htm
Starting Genealogy and Family History Research: www.archives.gov/genealogy/about-research.html
State Department: state.gov/

Statutes at Large (GPO Access Public and Private Laws): www.gpoaccess.gov/statutes/index.html
Supreme Court opinions: www.supremecourtus.gov/opinions/opinions.html

Themes Studies (National Park Services): www.cr.nps.gov/nhl/themes/themes.htm
Timeline of U.S. Diplomatic History: www.state.gov/r/pa/ho/time/
Treaties in Force: www.state.gov/www/global/legal_affairs/tifindex.html
USAID Green book: gbk.eads.usaidallnet.gov/
U.S. Army Center of Military History: www.army.mil/cmh-pg/
U.S. Code: www.gpoaccess.gov/uscode/
U.S. Marine Corps History and Museums Division: hqinet001.hqmc.usmc.mil/HD/
UNESCO Archives Portal: www.unesco.org/webworld/portal_archives/
Using Primary Sources on the Web: www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/rusa/sections/history/resources/pubs/usingprimarysources/index.cfm
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CPD
What You Can Do on this Website (National Archives): www.archives.gov/genealogy/about-genealogy-research.html
When Nixon Met Elvis: www.archives.gov/exhibits/nixon-met-elvis/index.html
Wirtz Labor Digital Library (Dept. of Labor): www.dol.gov/oasam/library/digital/main.htm
Women in Congress: womenincongress.house.gov/
Womens Bureau Bulletins (at Harvard): ocp.hul.harvard.edu/ww/womens-bureau-bulletins.html
World Factbook: https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

Guides and Special ListsGovernment Information Home


If you have questions about the Blume Library Documents Collection or government information in general, contact the Government Information Librarian.