Government Information Sources in Science & Technology

Engineering

Engineering • Specific areas: ComputersTransportation

Other sections of this guide may contain information of interest to engineers and engineering students, particularly the section on The Environment.

Engineering

Resources in the Library

[Go to Resources on the Web]

Census of Construction Industries C 3.245:. 1967- . Part of the 5-year Economic Census cycle. Statistics are available by industry and by geographic area. Preliminary reports may be received in microfiche. Starting with 1987, major report series are also received on CD-ROM. Starting with the 1997 Census, information is more quickly and completely available online at the Census Bureau.

Compilation of Selected Acts within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Commerce. Y 4.C 73/8:[Congress no.]. These compilations are re-issued periodically (the Library keeps only the most recent) and are simple reprints of laws in force, with no explanation or commentary. Several of these volumes are of interest to engineers and engineering students.

Current Construction Reports. C 3.215/ . These booklets present statistical information on current construction activity. Some series have annual cumulations; in these cases the Library usually retains the cumulations rather than the monthly issues. Library holdings run from the 1970's through the 1990's. Most of the reports are also available online from the Census Bureau.

EPA Office of Compliance Sector Notebook Project. EP 1.113:310-R- . These "notebooks" compile information about environmental problems and solutions, case studies and compliance tips for various industries. The Library has more than a dozen in paper; these and more are available online from the EPA.

Science and Engineering Indicators. NS 1.28/2: . 1973- . Irregular. Statistics and analysis covering science and technical education (at all levels), research and development (publicly and privately-supported) and, in recent volumes, attitudes towards science and technology. Some volumes are available online from the National Science Foundation.

Resources on the Web

Go to Resources in the Library

Army Corps of Engineers. This Web site offers news items, some publications, and a searchable digital library of photographs.

National Institute of Standards and Technology. This agency was called the National Bureau of Standards until 1988, when the name was changed to reflect its new, broader mission to support technological development in all areas. The Institute operates the Advanced Technology Program, a "partnership between government and private industry to accelerate the development of high-risk technologies that promise significant commercial payoffs and widespread benefits for the economy," confers the Malcolm Baldridge National Quality Awards, and operates several separate labs which are linked from the main NIST page. These labs conduct and fund research and cover the following areas:

Building and Fire Research

Chemical Science and Technology

Electronics and Electrical Engineering

Information Technology

Manufacturing Engineering

Materials Science and Engineering

Physics

Technology Services

There is a great deal of reference information available online at NIST, through these labs and the NIST Virtual Library, but some of the databases and electronic journals can be accessed only at NIST or by their staff.

Nuclear Regulatory Commission. This Web site offers both technical and general information on the nuclear power industry and nuclear science and technology. Their "electronic reading room" provides links to a number of their publications.

Occupational Safety and Health Administration. Among the resources offered at the Web site are manuals, inspection data and directives.

Robotics Education Project. This NASA site includes information about robotics competitions, ideas for teachers and students, and an extensive link collection, pointing to detailed resources within NASA, other agencies, universities and miscellaneous organizations dealing with robotics.


Congressional Committees most concerned with Engineering

House Committees on  Energy and Commerce, Natural Resources, Science and Technology and Transportation and Infrastructure.

Senate Committees on Commerce, Science and Transportation,  Energy and Natural Resources, and Environment and Public Works.

There is some variation among Congressional Committee Web sites as to content. But all of them will have at least some information on legislation they are currently considering. So for information of this kind, these are good sites to consult. Some Committees, however, will have more historical information available than others.

[Back to the top]


Computers and Telecommunications

Resources in the Library

[Go to Resources on the Web]

Annual Survey of Communication Services. C 3 138/3-6:990-95. Aggregate statistics on companies providing telephone service (including cellular phones), telegraph and other electronic messaging services, broadcasting (radio and tv), cable tv, and other communications services. Several years, including more recent information, are available online from the Census Bureau.

Beyond the Ionosphere: Fifty Years of Satellite Communication. NAS 1.21:4217. 1997. A collection of papers originally presented at an international conference celebrating the 50th anniversary of the publication of Arthur C. Clarke's influential articles on the possibilities of satellite-aided communications. The papers cover the history of the development of communications satellites. There is also a timeline, glossary of acronyms and suggestions for further reading. A text version of the volume is available on the NASA website.

Compilation of Selected Acts within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Commerce. Communications Law. Y 4.C 73/8:[Congress-no.]. These compilations of laws are re-issued periodically; the Library keeps only the most recent. Laws included: Communications Act of 1934, Telecommunications act of 1996, Communications Satellite Act of 1962 and other related legislation. This is a simple compilation of laws in force, with no explanation or commentary.

"Read You Loud and Clear." NAS 1.21:4233. 2008. Subtitled "The Story of NASA's Spaceflight Tracking and Data Network," this volume in the NASA History Series traces the history of this important satellite tracking system from its beginnings in the 1950s, through the Mercury and Apollo mission years, and into the present day. The author's purpose is to celebrate the invisible engineers that made these flights possible.

Where Do We Go from Here? The FCC Auctions and the Future or Radio Spectrum Management. Y 10.2:AU 2. 1997. This CBO  (Congressional Budget Office) study gives a general overview of the Federal Communications Commission's spectrum auctions, detailed information (and critical commentary) on some important 1990's auctions, and proposals and estimates for future auctions. There is a separate chapter devoted to the special case of digitial television. Text and PDF versions of this report are available on the CBO website.

NTIA (National Telecommunications and Information Administration) publications held by the Library are classed C 60.2: . Few of the agency's reports are now received in paper format, but many are available on their website. Two major publications held by the Library in paper are:

Resources on the Web

Go to Resources in the Library


GPO Browse Topics. This listing of links to government sites is by broad subject. Computers & Internet is their major site for this subject; it includes sub-pages on ID TheftWeb AccessibilityWeb Usability.


Cyber Incident Advisory Capability. This office in the Department of Energy, offers information on a wide variety of computer and information security topics, including viruses and hoaxes.

National Institute of Standards and Technology. This agency was called the National Bureau of Standards until 1988, when the name was changed to reflect its new, broader mission to support technological development in all areas. The Institute operates the Advanced Technology Program, a "partnership between government and private industry to accelerate the development of high-risk technologies that promise significant commercial payoffs and widespread benefits for the economy," confers the Malcolm Baldridge National Quality Awards, and operates several separate labs which are linked from the main NIST page. These labs conduct and fund research and cover the following areas of interest:

Electronics and Electrical EngineeringInformation Technology • Technology Services

There is a great deal of reference information available online at NIST, through these labs and the NIST Virtual Library, but some of the databases and electronic journals can be accessed only at NIST or by their staff.


Congressional Committees most concerned with Computers and Telecommunication

House Committees on  Energy and Commerce, and Science and Technology

Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation.

There is some variation among Congressional Committee Web sites as to content. But all of them will have at least some information on legislation they are currently considering. So for information of this kind, these are good sites to consult. Some Committees, however, will have more historical information available than others.


Transportation

Resources in the Library

[Go to Resources on the Web]

Census of Transportation C 3.233: . 1967-. Part of the 5-year Economic Census cycle. Parts include: National Travel Survey, Truck Inventory & Use Survey, Commodity Transportation Survey. Preliminary reports may be received in microfiche. Beginning with the 1987 Census, some reports are also received on CD-ROM. They are on 7-day Reserve at the Circulation Desk. Recent Census information is also online from the Census Bureau.

Compilation of Maritime Laws. TD 11.6:M 33/ . Compilation of the Merchant Marine Act of 1936, National Defense Reserve Fleet authority, and other laws concerned with maritime activity. There are sections on shipyards, cargo, gambling vessels, cruise ships, and admiralty/maritime juridiction. The Compilation is revised periodically. A recent edition is available online from the Dept. of Transportation, Maritime Administration.

FAA Statistical Handbook of Aviation TD 4.20: . Annual. 1963-  (1985 and later is in MICROFICHE). Information on aircraft, airports and personnel.

Highway Statistics TD 2.23: . Annual. 1963-  (1990 and later is in MICROFICHE). Information on fuel, vehicles, finance and roads. Many recent years are available online from the Federal Highway Administration

Resources on the Web

Go to Resources in the Library


GPO Browse Topics. This listing of links to government sites is by broad subject. Currently, their transportation-related information is found under U.S. Travel, but there is a listing for Aviation.


Contrails. This archive, maintained by the Illinois Institute of Technology Galvin Library, aims to preserve and disseminate the technical history of the first century of powered human flight. It includes government published resources relating to its mission, including technical reports from the Wright Air Development Center—an important center for aeronautical research in the pre-NASA era—and its successor agencies.

Department of Transportation. The DOT is concerned with transportation safety, international transportation, coordination of transportation programs and provision of technical assistance to the states and cities. The Web site links to a The most important of its subsidiary agencies are:


Congressional Committees most concerned with Transportation

House Committees on  Energy and Commerce, Natural Resources, Science and Technology and Transportation and Infrastructure.

Senate Committees on Commerce, Science and Transportation,  Energy and Natural Resources, and Environment and Public Works.

There is some variation among Congressional Committee Web sites as to content. But all of them will have at least some information on legislation they are currently considering. So for information of this kind, these are good sites to consult. Some Committees, however, will have more historical information available than others.


A selection of links to government databases in the sciences and technology can be found on our Government Databases in Scientific and Technical Fields page.